View count: 3656


Highlights of Curriculum Philosophy

The program emphasizes research training and developing the student’s self-reliance and self-confidence for independent work.

Entering students without an identified thesis advisor are invited to rotate through the mentorship of several faculty members until an advisor can be identified. This process should take place preferably within the first two semesters of the enrollment of a student in the program.

Whenever pedagogically advantageous, the program adopts a team-teaching system, whereby each faculty member teaches the subsection in a course in his or her area of primary expertise.

In keeping up with the international stature of the program, all courses will be offered in English.

Course Distribution

The typical course distribution is as follows:
  (1) Required course for all students –Introductory Earth System Science.
  (2) Core courses in declared area of concentration –2 courses out of the listed 5 courses in the declared area of concentration of the student.
  (3) Elective courses – Any number of the remaining courses offered by the ESS program.If elective courses are not offered by the ESS program, the credits cannot be included in the credits required for graduation
  (4) Seminar and Research discussion – to be taken for at least four times. It is the responsibility of the advisor to assist each student in formulating a program of study that will best satisfy his or her personal needs and fulfill the graduation requirements. Depending on the background of the incoming student, a prescribed program of additional courses for making up background deficiencies might be required as part of the degree requirements. Students are expected to complete at least 18 credit units within the first two years of enrollment. Students are also required to take a one-credit course on “Seminar and Research Discussion” in each semester, for a total of four credit hours, during the first two years of their enrollments in the program.

Course Offering

Four types of courses are being offered: (1) Required courses (2) Core courses in each area of concentration (3) Elective courses (4) Elementary Chinese.

1. Required courses:

  1. Introductory Earth System Science (3 credit units)
  2. Seminar and Research Discussion (1 credit unit)

2. Core courses: (3 credit units each)

  1. Atmospheric Sciences
  2. Global Hydrological Cycles
  3. Environmental Ecology and Biodiversity
  4. The Solid Earth
  5. Anthroposphere and Sustainability

3. Elective courses: ( 2 or 3 credit units each )

1. Human Activities and Land Use/Land Cover Changes
2.Isotope geochemistry

3.Seismic Data Analysis
4.Scientific Programming
5.Fundamentals of Active and Passive Remote Sensing
6.High frequency seismology
7.Observation and Modeling of Cloud Physics
8.Digital Image and Social Change
9.Introduction to Volcanic Processes
10.Earthquake Forecasting
11.Advanced Electromagnetic Exploration
12.Geology and Tectonics
13.Seismic Studies on Atmosphric, Hydrosphric and Lithospheric Processes
14.Environmental Isotope Geochemistry
15.General Geophysics
16.Practical Science Writing
17.Special Topic on AtmosphericRemote Sensing
18.Low frequency seismology
19.Exploration Seismologyusing Active and Passive Sources
20.Seismic Hazard Assessment
22.Marine Biogeochemistry
24.Special Topics on Synthetic Aperture Radar (I)
25.Special Topics on Synthetic Aperture Radar (II)
26.Marine Geophysics
27.Marine Biogeochemistry Lab
28.Aerosols and Air Pollution

4. Other required courses:

1-yr Elementary Chinese (required for overseas students only)